Private label car care products are car wash soaps, waxes, ceramic coatings, tire shines and interior cleaners made by a chemical manufacturer and sold under your brand. Minimums are low: one California maker publishes 36 to 60 bottles per product in 16 oz sizes, and a coating specialist lists 500 units per product. The rules come from chemistry, not cosmetics. Hazardous products need Federal Hazardous Substances Act warning labels. California caps VOC content by product type (for example, 3% for non-aerosol tire shine and 15% for most liquid waxes). Manufacturers must supply safety data sheets, and Amazon may need one before accepting your stock into FBA.
Below I compare manufacturers, explain the VOC and labeling rules, and cover selling car care on Amazon.
Private label car care manufacturers
From each company’s own site, checked October 8, 2026:
| Manufacturer | Location | Products | Published minimum | Lead time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renegade Products | Anaheim, California (50,000 sq ft) | Full car care line, plus janitorial and home | 16 oz: 36 or 60 per product; 32 oz: 48; gallons: 20; pails and drums: 1 | Ships 2 to 3 weeks after artwork approval |
| The Lab Zone | Bradenton, Florida (since 1989) | Car, marine and motorcycle care | “Low minimum order quantities” (no figure) | Typically 10 to 30 business days |
| Feynlab | Not stated | Ceramic and automotive coatings; custom development | 500 units per product | Ask |
| Pearl Nano | Not stated | Ceramic coatings, foaming car soap, tire gel, interior detailer | No minimum on standard products; minimums for custom colors and scents | About 2 weeks |
| Element 119 | Plainville, Connecticut | Bulk ceramic and glass coatings | A minimum opening order (no figure) | Ask |
Renegade’s second website lists a 60-bottle minimum and 440 bottles for a custom scent or color, so confirm terms on your quote.
My take: start with three products that sell together: a pH-neutral wash, a spray detailer and a tire shine. A bundle gives you a higher order value from day one, and none of those three needs a long development cycle.
VOC limits: the rule most new brands miss
Car care chemicals contain volatile organic compounds (VOCs), and both federal and California rules cap them by product type.
Federal (EPA, 40 CFR 59 Subpart C). The national consumer products rule sets VOC limits by weight for certain categories, including automotive windshield washer fluid (35%), carburetor and choke cleaners (75%), engine degreasers (75%) and air fresheners (70% for single-phase, 30% for double-phase, 18% for liquids and pump sprays, 3% for solids and gels). There are no federal categories for car wax, tire shine or car wash.
California (CARB). California’s consumer products regulation is stricter and covers far more car care products:
| Product (CARB category) | VOC limit (% by weight) |
|---|---|
| Automotive wax, polish, sealant or glaze: hard paste wax | 45 |
| Automotive wax, polish, sealant or glaze: instant detailer | 3 |
| Automotive wax, polish, sealant or glaze: all other forms | 15 |
| Automotive rubbing or polishing compound | 17 |
| Rubber and vinyl protectant (includes tire shine): aerosol | 10 |
| Rubber and vinyl protectant: non-aerosol | 3 |
| Tire or wheel cleaner: aerosol | 8 |
| Tire or wheel cleaner: non-aerosol | 2 |
| Motor vehicle wash: non-aerosol | 0.2 |
| Tire sealant and inflator | 20 |
| Bug and tar remover | 40 |
CARB’s definition of rubber and vinyl protectant covers products that protect, preserve or renew vinyl or rubber on vehicles and tires, which is where tire shine falls.
In practice, many brands formulate to California limits so one product can sell nationwide. I’d ask every manufacturer to confirm CARB compliance in writing for each product you plan to sell online, because online orders ship into California too.
Warning labels under the FHSA
If a car care product is a hazardous substance (flammable, corrosive, toxic or an irritant), the Federal Hazardous Substances Act requires a cautionary label. The law lists the elements:
- Name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, distributor or seller.
- Common or chemical name of the hazardous substance.
- The signal word “DANGER” for extremely flammable, corrosive or highly toxic substances.
- “WARNING” or “CAUTION” for other hazardous substances.
- A statement of the principal hazard, such as “Flammable”.
- Precautionary measures.
- First-aid instructions where appropriate.
- “Poison” for highly toxic substances.
- Handling and storage instructions where needed.
- “Keep out of the reach of children” or an equivalent.
The CPSC says the label goes on the immediate container, and on the outer packaging too if the container label isn’t visible. Because you’re the distributor named on the label, getting it right is your responsibility, not just the manufacturer’s.
Safety data sheets
Under OSHA’s Hazard Communication Standard, chemical manufacturers and importers must obtain or develop a safety data sheet (SDS) for each hazardous chemical. An SDS has 16 sections, ending with other information such as the date of preparation or last revision.
You’ll need the SDS for three reasons: Amazon’s dangerous goods review, freight and courier bookings, and answering retailer or customer questions. Ask for it at the sample stage, and make sure the product name on the SDS matches your listing.
Private label engine oil: API licensing comes first
Motor oil is the one car care product where a trade body, not a government agency, controls the marks
buyers look for. The American Petroleum Institute’s Engine Oil Licensing and Certification System is
voluntary, but the API “donut” and “starburst” are what shoppers and mechanics check for.
Your brand needs its own license. API licenses the “oil marketer”, the organization responsible for
the brand name, and its rules say a different brand name counts as a separate engine oil. So a blender’s
API license doesn’t automatically cover your private label; each brand and viscosity grade must be
submitted and licensed before the marks go on your bottle. API’s fees, effective January 1, 2026, are
$6,300 to apply and $6,300 a year to renew, per license, plus a volume fee above 750,000 gallons.
| API mark | What it means |
|---|---|
| Donut (Service Symbol) | Performance category, such as API SQ for gasoline engines, plus the SAE viscosity grade |
| Starburst (Certification Mark) | Meets the current ILSAC GF-7A standard; not for 0W-16 oils |
| Shield | Meets ILSAC GF-7B, for 0W-16 oils only |
API SQ and ILSAC GF-7 took effect in March 2025, and API’s guide marks GF-6 obsolete from October 1,
2026. Minimums run high: MOL, a European blender, lists 4 tons for bulk or 3 to 5 tons per packaging
size. My take: unless you already sell oil, start with car care chemicals and leave motor oil until you
can fund licensing and tonnage.
Private label air fresheners: VOC limits and claims
Car air fresheners are among the easiest car care products to private label, with Chinese makers listing
minimums from about 1,000 to 5,000 pieces (IKEDA from 1,000 pieces; Ocean Star from 5,000 for stock vent
clips and gel cups; Shamood 3,000 to 10,000 per fragrance). The rules sit in two places.
California VOC limits. CARB’s consumer products rules cap volatile organic compounds by weight:
| Air freshener type | VOC limit |
|---|---|
| Liquid or pump spray | 18% |
| Solid or semisolid | 3% |
| Manual aerosol | 10% now, 5% from January 1, 2027 |
| Concentrated aerosol (small can, high fragrance) | 15% now, 10% from January 1, 2027 |
Products made entirely of fragrance are exempt from the VOC limits, and para-dichlorobenzene is banned in
solid air fresheners.
Keep the claims about odors, not germs. EPA guidance treats claims to remove, neutralize or eliminate
odors as generally not pesticidal, but claims to control bacteria that cause odors, or to sanitize or
disinfect, are. A freshener that says “kills odor-causing bacteria” needs EPA registration.
Selling car care products on Amazon
Amazon reviews products that could pose a risk if not stored, shipped or handled properly as dangerous goods. Sellers may need to upload a safety data sheet or an exemption sheet through Amazon’s dangerous goods classification tool. Aerosols are among Amazon’s named examples, and some dangerous goods must ship in limited quantities.
What that means for your launch:
- Aerosol products (some tire shines and detail sprays) are more likely to be classified as dangerous goods. Non-aerosol versions are often simpler to ship.
- Upload the SDS early. A listing can be blocked from FBA until classification is done.
- Match names exactly. The SDS, label and listing should use the same product and brand name.
Our guides to the Amazon hazmat checker and applying for Amazon’s hazmat program cover the process in detail.
How I’d launch a car care brand
- Pick a narrow line. Three to five products for one use, such as weekend detailing.
- Request samples and test them on a real car, in sun and shade.
- Collect documents: SDS for each product, CARB compliance confirmation, and the proposed FHSA label text.
- Choose non-aerosol formats where possible, to simplify shipping.
- Design labels with all required warnings, then check them against the list above.
- Plan Amazon classification before sending stock.
Honestly, step 2 is where car care brands win or lose. I’d test every sample on a dirty car, not a clean one. Customers judge a wash or a shine in one use, and they leave reviews with photos.
Questions to ask a car care manufacturer
- Is each formula compliant with California VOC limits for its category?
- Can you supply a 16-section SDS for every product, with my brand name?
- Do you provide FHSA-compliant label text, or should I write it?
- What is the minimum per product, per size, and for a custom scent or color?
- Which products are aerosols, and are non-aerosol versions available?
- How long from artwork approval to shipped stock?
Mistakes new car care brands make
- Copying a big brand’s claims. “Lasts 12 months” needs evidence. Claim only what you’ve tested.
- Ignoring California. An online store ships everywhere, so VOC limits apply to you.
- Weak warning labels. A missing signal word or first-aid line is a compliance problem, not a design choice.
- Too many SKUs. Each product needs its own SDS, label and classification. Start small.
- Skipping the bundle. In my view, a starter kit is the easiest way to raise average order value in this category.
For related chemical products, see our guide to private label cleaning product manufacturers. For finding domestic suppliers more broadly, see private label manufacturers in the USA. If you’d like a team to source and vet manufacturers, that’s our complete sourcing management service. Selling spray products? See private label aerosol manufacturers for the hazmat rules.
FAQ
What is the minimum order for private label car care products?
Published minimums include 36 to 60 bottles per product in 16 oz sizes at one California manufacturer, and 500 units per product for ceramic coatings at another. Some suppliers list no minimum on standard products.
Do car care products have VOC limits?
Yes. Federal rules cap VOCs in some categories, such as windshield washer fluid (35%). California sets limits for many more, such as 15% for most liquid waxes and 3% for non-aerosol tire shine.
What warnings must be on a car care label?
If the product is hazardous, the FHSA requires a signal word, the hazard, precautions, first aid where appropriate, and “Keep out of the reach of children”, among other elements.
Do I need a safety data sheet for car care products?
Yes. Manufacturers must provide an SDS for each hazardous chemical, and Amazon may require one, or an exemption sheet, before accepting the product into FBA.
Is tire shine regulated in California?
Yes. CARB treats it as a rubber and vinyl protectant, with VOC limits of 10% for aerosols and 3% for non-aerosol products.
Can I private label engine oil?
Yes, but the API marks require your brand to be licensed. API treats a different brand name as a separate engine oil, so each brand and viscosity grade must be licensed; fees are $6,300 to apply and $6,300 a year to renew. Blender minimums are measured in tons.
Do private label air fresheners have regulations?
Yes. California caps VOCs (for example 18% for pump sprays and 3% for solids), and claims about killing odor-causing bacteria make a freshener a pesticide needing EPA registration. Aerosols also need FHSA pressure warnings.
Can I sell car care products on Amazon FBA?
Yes, but many are reviewed as dangerous goods. Upload the SDS or exemption sheet, and expect aerosols to need extra handling.
Last updated: October 19, 2026. General information, not legal advice; confirm requirements for each product with your manufacturer. Sources: API, licensing fees; CARB, consumer products regulations; EPA, pesticidal claims for cleaning products; MOL Lubricants private label offer; Ocean Star; IKEDA; Shamood; 15 U.S.C. 1261 (FHSA); CPSC, FHSA requirements; OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.1200; EPA VOC limits, 40 CFR 59 Subpart C, Table 1; CARB, consumer products regulation; Amazon, hazmat and dangerous goods; Renegade Products; The Lab Zone; Feynlab; Pearl Nano; Element 119.